British Naval Fiction – A Learned Opinion

armchair seadog

Although this blog is devoted mainly to non-fiction, every once in a while I am compelled to point out something of interest from the fiction side as well. Today, I direct your attention to this fine article by Richard WoodmanNathaniel Drinkwater and the British Maritime Article. Most informative on many levels. (BTW, I possess all the Drinkwater novels, most in their first English editions. And I have read them all as well!)

View original post

Advertisements

The Surrender of the CSS Shenandoah

armchair seadog

Today marks the end of the American Civil War; however, lags in communication and the attendant breakdown of communications infrastructure greatly delayed the relaying of this event. While Confederate land forces surrendered by the end of the summer of 1865, the Shenandoah did so toward the end of the year. The CSS Shenandoah surrendered in Liverpool, England on November 6, 1865 ((“The Cruise of the Shenandoah,” Southern Historical Society Papers, 35(1900): 235-258; Hunt’s The Shenandoah; or, The last Confederate cruiser (1910); articles from The Liverpool Mercury, November 1865)). This was the last Confederate surrender.

Other relevant reads include: The Diplomats Who Sank a Fleet: The Confederacy’s Undelivered European Fleet and the Union Consular Service; Civil War at Sea;Confederate Ships Afloat (from DANFS); Official Records of the Union and Confederate Navies, 30 vols.; Officers in the Confederate States navy, 1861-65 [A register]; History of the Confederate…

View original post 52 more words

New Books! 4/14/15

BookPeople

HARDCOVER FICTION

The Dream Lover by Elizabeth Berg

9780812993158New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Berg has written a lush historical novel based on the sensuous Parisian life of the nineteenth-century writer George Sand–which is perfect for readers of Nancy Horan and Elizabeth Gilbert.

Paris in the nineteenth century comes vividly alive, illuminated by the story of the loves, passions, and fierce struggles of a woman who defied the confines of society. Sand’s many lovers and friends include Frederic Chopin, Gustave Flaubert, Franz Liszt, Eugene Delacroix, Victor Hugo, Marie Dorval, and Alfred de Musset. As Sand welcomes fame and friendship, she fights to overcome heartbreak and prejudice, failure and loss. Though considered the most gifted genius of her time, she works to reconcile the pain of her childhood, of disturbing relationships with her mother and daughter, and of her intimacies with women and men. Will the life she longs for always…

View original post 1,039 more words

Review: Marvel’s Daredevil

Graphic Policy

Daredevil-TV-Logo-NetflixToday is a brand new-day in the Marvel Universe with the debut of NetflixDaredevil TV series; the first of four brand-new television shows set in the “Marvel Cinematic Universe” (MCU). The characters that will be having their own shows on Netflix are Marvel’s “street level” characters; Daredevil, Jessica Jones, Luke Cage and Iron Fist. And just as with the Marvel big-screen counterparts, all four shows will culminate in a crossover TV series, The Defenders!

While this is not Marvel Studios’ first foray into the small-screen, as we’ve seen with Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and Agent Carter, Daredevil brings Marvel Studios into new territory. Daredevil has a darker tone than the any film or show in thus far in the MCU. And it isn’t just because they say “shit” a few times every episode, or the fact that they showed a *gasp* side-boob! Daredevil displays the dark underbelly…

View original post 690 more words

Daredevil Debuts On Netflix!

Longbox Graveyard

Daredevil debuts on Netflix today!

Daredevil on Netflix

While Daredevil may be the new hotness for TV fans, he’s long been a hot topic here at Longbox Graveyard. Here’s a whole pack of Daredevil-related articles from the Longbox Graveyard, to get you in the mood for his multi-hour television epic!

Earlier this month, I looked at Daredevil’s origins with a review of Daredevil #1

Daredevil #1

Daredevil figured prominently in my Top Ten lists of great Marvel characters, and “manliest” superheroes

that's why they call him Daredevil

I offered a brief review of Daredevil’s Silver Age adventures in this Longbox Shortbox …

Gene the Dean

I’m still conflicted about Brian Michael Bendis’ Daredevil run

Daredevil, Alex Maleev

How about this provocative comics creator quote that Daredevil was Marvel’s only “true” crime fighter?

FOOM 13

Chasing Amazing’s Mark Ginocchio provided insight on two of the key characters in Daredevil’s life — reporter Ben Urich, and the Kingpin, an enemy so arch that he’s in…

View original post 61 more words

WonderCon 2015: Warner Bros. shows off ‘San Andreas,’ ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’

Hero Complex - movies, comics, pop culture - Los Angeles Times

The Rock was missing, but explosions were plentiful at Warner Bros. WonderCon presentation, which kicked off Saturday’s lineup in the Anaheim Convention Center’s 9,100-seat arena.

The studio showed footage from the upcoming Dwayne Johnson disaster flick “San Andreas” as well as George Miller’s much anticipated “Mad Max: Fury Road.”

“San Andreas” director Brad Peyton (“Journey 2: The Mysterious Island”) was on hand to discuss the film, along with cast members Carla Gugino (“Watchmen,” “Sin City”) and Alexandra Daddario (“Percy Jackson & the Olympians”).

Absent was Johnson — a force of nature in his own right — who stars as a rescue helicopter pilot who sets out to save his ex-wife (Gugino) and daughter (Daddario) after a massive earthquake and resulting tidal wave leave the California coast decimated.

It’s a big-budget action movie, but during the panel, Peyton emphasized the film’s “raw and honest” emotional aspects.

“I knew we were going…

View original post 563 more words